Leading Stories

Tom Brady Finally Speaks His Mind In An Interview

Patriots QB Tom Brady addresses DeflateGate and other NFL topics

la-sp-sn-patriots-tom-brady-appeals-deflategate-suspension-20150514New England Patriots Quarterback Tom Brady Expressed Some Of His Thoughts In An Interview

Tom Brady, the quarterback of the New England Patriots, has finally broken his silence. Well sort of, Brady had an interview on Westwood One’s pregame show on Thursday with Jim Gray. Brady has actually been a regular guest for the last several years, but this time he addressed DeflateGate and the NFL system.

After the 18 month battle that was Deflategate, at the end came the realization by the NFLPA that the system in the league when it comes to the power of the commissioner needs to be changed. Tom Brady in this interview agreed that change to the system needs to occur.

  • Boston Red Sox Pitching Depth Looks More Promising with Hector Velazquez Passing Henry Ownes - Boston Red Sox Pitching Depth Looks More Promising with Hector Velazquez Passing Henry Ownes Hector Velazquez showed some promise in his 1st professional start tonight for the Pawtucket Red Sox tonight. He went 4.2 innings on 4 hits, 4 runs, 3 earned runs, 2 walks and 6 strikeouts on 79 pitches (52 strikes). The biggest take away from tonight for Velazquez was that he was pounding the strike zone, something that Henry Owens has struggled with. For a player who is pitching in the minor leagues, you’re not looking at results. You’re looking to see if they can keep their team in the game and pound the strike zone. It looks like Velazquez can do that in professional baseball. I can confidently say that he has passed Henry Owens on the depth chart for the Boston Red Sox in the starting pitching department. The main reason I say that is Velazquez can throw strikes. To compare Velazquez to a player you have already seen in a Red Sox uniform, it would be Sean O’Sullivan. O’Sullivan could give you 5 innings of quality ball and keep you in the game. The both relied on control and pounding the strike zone. Once they [...]
  • Monster Energy Supercross: Team Kawasaki Sweeps AS Eli Tomac And Hometown Kid Adam Cianciarulo Wins In Daytona - Eli Tomac And Adam Cianciarulo Win In Daytona The Daytona race reverted back to the old style of a lapped race because the lap times were north of one minute. Also the Track is on the infield Daytona International Speedway. At lest it was nice out, and not like it was back it 2008. 250 would race 15 in the Main Event and 450 20. 250 Class: The hometown kid Adam Cianciarulo took not time and made the pass at turn one, on teammate Joey Savatgy to take over the lead. Points leader Zach Osborne had a terrible start and a few mishaps (including one crash) during the race and had make his way through the pack. Osborne was able to finish fifth and diminish the damage of his points lead. Joey Savatgy finished behind his teammate to take second. Kawasaki was a very happy camper in Daytona. 250 Results: Adam Cianciarulo Joey Savatgy Dylan Ferrandis Jordon Smith Zach Osborne Lorenzo Locurcio Kyle Cunningham Alex Martin Luke Renzland Dakota Alix   450 Class: Once again Eli Tomac Had a great start while Ryan Dungey had another terrible one. Tomac started in second while Dungey was back in 17th. Yes Dungey [...]
  • Patriots Talk: Malcolm Butler’s Dilemma - New England Patriots Talk: Malcolm Butler's Dilemma

I think the system can always be improved,” Brady said. “Not just for my situation because my situation is obviously in the past, but for everyone’s situation in the future. I think we as players need to stand together so collectively we can be as strong as possible and the NFL can continue to provide and be as great of a game as it is.”

Brady believes following what happened to him, players can come together and fight for what they want when it is time to negotiate a new CBA in the coming years.

“Well, I actually think it is a great opportunity for the players to come together and the players to recognize all the things that we have negotiated and as we negotiate hopefully a CBA extension, that we as players come together to really stand up for the things that we believe in and continue to fight just as the players that fought before us,” he said. “I think I have great respect for the guys who fought to stand up for the rights of the players just as myself and certain players did in 2011. I know there will need to be great leadership from the players moving forward. It definitely is a business and the players need to understand what is collectively bargained and understand all the issues that are put on the table that can make for a better game. I think that is what all the fans would want.

An interesting quote from Brady indeed, before this he hasn’t publicly made a statement regarding the CBA and the system that is in place for situations like DeflateGate. Brady actually went in-depth on several topics related to DeflateGate.

Tom Brady Addresses DeflateGate Topics

On ending the legal battle: “It was a personal decision for me. It went on for obviously a long time and I want thank, especially the people from the NFLPA, who represented the players all over the years and all the hard work that they’ve done, but it just came from a personal choice where I wanted to put it behind me and move forward.”

On if he’s bitter about the whole thing: “I’m a pretty positive person. I use all these different situations in my life as learning experiences and I certainly learned a lot about myself, about my support system, about the people that care about me, my teammates, my friendships and I look forward to going back out there and playing when I get the opportunity to do it. Sometimes when you’re not out there you gain a different perspective and you gain maybe more appreciation for what you do. I did have that chance in 2008 under different circumstances when I got injured and I had a chance to sit back and watch from a far. Unfortunately, I’ll be doing that again for these four weeks and hopefully I can gain maybe a deeper perspective and one that I couldn’t have gained if I was out there playing. That is what I am looking forward to figuring out.”

On if he believes he was treated unfairly by the NFL: “Well, it doesn’t serve my interest to keep looking back. When you deal with something for as long as I did, I think the only thing I chose to do — before training camp when I decided to move forward was to try and put it in the past. It was something I dealt with. It was something that the NFLPA dealt with on my behalf. Like I said, I had so much great support from my team, Mr. Kraft, Jonathan [Kraft], the Patriots, my coaches, my teammates. I owe my teammates to be the best that I can be and to have this divided attention that I had at different points last year was something that really didn’t serve me. I just tried to move forward and to fully focus on what my job is and that is to be the best quarterback that I can be for the team and I’ll have the chance to do it when I am back in October.”

On if it impacted his reputation: “I think over the years, what I have learned in the 17 years that I have been playing, there’s a lot of things that people will say positively and negatively. I don’t give people the power to change what my emotions are about myself or how I feel about myself or the way that I try to gain the respect of my teammates. Whatever people choose to feel is obviously their right. I’ve always tried to do things the best way I know possible. I was raised by a great mom and dad and I try and make them proud every day. When I get the opportunity to get back on the field I and going to try and do the best I can like I’ve always done.”

On Julian Edelman’s “it’s like going to jail” comment: “Not quite jail. I feel like I don’t have the opportunity to do something I love to do. That is the hard part of the situation that we are in, but I am going to try and be positive about that and spend some quality time with my family and pick my kids up from school and do some things that I won’t have the opportunity to do in October, November and December and for the years to come. Hopefully I can keep playing football for a long time and I don’t need to sit out another September for as long as I am playing.”

On some speculating of issues between he and Jimmy Garoppolo: “I think there’s obviously a lot of things that are said over the course of the season, and it’s to try to divide our team. That’s never been what our team is about. I want all the players on our team to do great. Certainly Jimmy, I know him really well. He’s really done a great job preparing himself, and I’m excited to see how he makes the most of his opportunity.”

In-depth doesn’t do these quotes justice, these comments are Brady’s true thoughts on everything that went on with the legal battle and the proceedings. These comments feel like he has thought quite a bit about everything. These quotes continue to make me think Brady truly believes he did nothing, which might still be the case considering the case wasn’t about whether or not he deflated footballs, but instead it was about whether or not Roger Goodell had the power to suspend a player without a shred of real evidence.

Brady And The Case Of The Missing NFL Sticker

The interview touched on another topic that has been swirling around Boston media which is Brady not wearing the NFL logo on the back of his helmet. Oddly enough he hasn’t been seen with the logo on his helmet throughout the entire summer, but his teammates have had the NFL logo on theirs. Brady though in the interview said he had no idea about the sticker not being there.

No, I didn’t,” he said. “I don’t even pay attention to what is on my helmet. I just hope the helmet is functional. That is all I am trying to get the helmet to be. I don’t pay attention to the stickers or whatever else is on there and I certainly didn’t remove anything.”

Gray then asked if he expects to hear from the league because of a “minor equipment violation?”

“I hope not. I hope not,” Brady said. “Again, it’s something I don’t know where that came from.

Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 10.43.25 PM.pngBelieve him or not, but I doubt he is telling the truth here. Players generally inspect their gear before they use it, and to not notice a sticker missing for the whole summer after having it their for your whole career seems far-fetched. I believe Brady intentionally had the sticker removed as a little dig towards the league office. He obviously cannot come out and say he did because he would be fined the second the interview is over.

More Football Posts

Brady On The Banner

Another dig towards the NFL is the Tom Brady banner that has been placed on the lighthouse at Gillette Stadium. Brady liked the gesture made by team owner Robert Kraft and the team.

“I think it was a very cool gesture by Mr. Kraft and the team,” Brady said. “I’ll be excited to be back out there in October when I am there for real. It was a really cool thing to do. I was certainly very humbled and flattered to see it. On social media, I’ve seen quite a bit of it. I’ve yet to see it in person.”

The quarterback said he will watch each of the first four games and act like he is playing so that he’s prepared as he can be for Week 5.

“I’m going to watch the games,” he said. “I’m very interested and I want our team to do great. I am going to study as if I was playing. I am going to watch those games and analyze them as if I was in there playing so I am ready to go against Cleveland in Week 5.”

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

About Tanner Rebelo (178 Articles)
Founder and Chief of Content for Trifecta Network.

Leave a Reply

