Leading Stories

Patriots Come Back In A Historic Super Bowl Game To Beat The Falcons

New England Patriots Come Back In A Historic Super Bowl Game To Beat The Atlanta Falcons

New England Patriots Come Back In A Historic Super Bowl Game To Beat The Atlanta Falcons

I would have liked to get this out early this morning, but after the New England Patriots came back from a 25 point deficit to beat the Atlanta Falcons in Super Bowl 51 on Sunday I took to the streets of Boston with my fellow Patriot fans.

Only one word perfectly sums up this years 31-28 Super Bowl win and that is unbelievable.

The biggest comeback in Super Bowl history was 10 points, which was the deficit the Patriots came back from against the Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl 49.

The Pat’s were down 25 points, Mark Whalberg and other fans left NRG Stadium in disgust along with many turning of the TV across the nation. Everyone had seemingly written Tom Brady and the New England Patriots off once again.

But right when the world thinks he is done, he comes right back and puts everyone in their places.

safe_image

Big play after big play, nothing could go wrong, sneaked the score back to a two position game in unappealing fashion. And that is when the stage was set. Down 16 points needing two touchdowns and two two-point conversions.

But every big play on defense and offense for the Patriots can all be summed up into one play that will define the night forever much like the David Tyree catch did in a Super Bowl loss against the New York Giants.

Edelman made a catch that seemed improbable, the ball was deflected up and Jules somehow picked it up off of a Falcon defenders leg and secured the catch. Even his teammates have no idea how he caught that football.

“I don’t know how he caught it. I don’t think he does,” Brady said afterwards.

Added Brady: “We’ve been on the other end of a few of those catches.”

9862239

The quarterback wasn’t the only one in shock, as so was linebacker Dont’a Hightower.

“Man, it was the best catch that I have ever seen in person hands down,” he said. “I couldn’t even tell. Julian, The Incredible, that’s what they call him. I’m so, so blessed for him to have that catch.”

But for Edelman himself, he knew he had it all the way.

“I knew I had a good feel on it,” he said. “I didn’t know if a piece of the ball was touching. I don’t know what the dang rule is. No one knows what the rule is for a catch. I was like, ‘I think I caught it. I’m pretty sure I caught it.’”

As we all know this is not the end of the line for Tom Brady, as his favorite ring is always going to be the next one. This team will be back next year to compete once again, might be a different team with pending free agents like Marty Bennett, but with a Gronk return on the horizon I see no reason to why the Patriots will not be able to defend their Super Bowl title.

giphy-3

About Tanner Rebelo (178 Articles)
Founder and Chief of Content for Trifecta Network.

Leave a Reply

