Leading Stories

Uncharted Movie Will Most Likely Be Given An R Rating

nathan-drake

Uncharted Video Game Series Movie To Be Rated R

The Critically acclaimed video games series Uncharted is being turned into a movie.

This is one of my favorite video game series, I have played everyone, some twice. This makes sense because most of Naughty Dog’s games are designed to be like the person is in a movie. Uncharted 4 is the newest one and most likely the last installment of the series. There is a spin-off game/DLC called The Lost Legacy. This new story will follow both Chloe and Nadine. There is no release date yet but it is proposed to be sometime this year. I would expect to hear the release date of this DLC/ standalone game paired with more news on the upcoming The Last Of Us 2.

Now more about the movie. The movie has been written as an R rated movie by writer Joe Carnahan, you can read more about what he had to say in an interview with ComingSoon. Here are some quotes from the writer about his reasoning behind the rating.

“When I wrote Uncharted, I didn’t spare the rod. I wrote it the way the video game is,” Carnahan explained (via GameSpot). “They swear in the game, they’re kinda foul-mouthed, and I kept all that stuff intact, and I definitely didn’t write it as a PG-13 movie. I wrote it the way that movie should be written.”

The movie is also supposed to be packed full of awesome action sequences just like the game. Carnahan has also said that he did not use a copy-and-paste method in order to create the script. He wanted to use the games as a blueprint for the movie.

“I probably wrote four of the biggest, f—-n’ craziest action sequences I think I’ve ever written in that movie,” he said.

There has been some backlash due to the rating but I think if Deadpool was fine then Uncharted should be fine.

“There’s no point in just transposing [the games] to film,” Carnahan said. “You’ve gotta come up with new s–t, so that’s what I did. It was a great challenge but it was a lot of fun.

Also no one from Naughty Dog has read the script, and does not know the plot of the movie either.

I cannot wait until this movie comes out it is going to be like a new Indiana Jones, but better. Not sure if that is what they are shooting for but I think that is the closest comparable movie.

About Justin Doyle (57 Articles)
Biggest Boston Bruins fan in the World, have been following the team for as long as I could understand the greatest sport in the World called Hockey. Also I Love Motocross and Rallycross.

Leave a Reply

